Firstly for those who don’t know, BlastOff is an endless runner where the player controls a rocket and try to survive as long as possible without getting hit by falling obstacles. Basically, its a casual game with an emphasize on vector graphics.

Why am I making BlastOff?

I have been using godot (Game Engine used to build the game) for over 2 years now. But I haven’t released any complete games in this period. They have been multiple attempts, 5 to be exact. Most, if not all of them was done in a rush. No proper planning, no real goals other than to ‘make a game’.

Up and untill the end of 2023, I had been working with two of my online friends under the studio name: InspaStorm. But as time went on, we all became very busy with our own lives and goals. And at last, here I’m developing this game.

My main goal of making this game is to experience all the different levels in making a game: Planning, finding a style, prototyping, getting all the art done, programming, music, sound effects, marketing, etc. I don’t expect it to gain much traction, just like thousands of other indie games.

My experience so far

This is my first vector graphics based game. And so far, I have been loving it. Its easy and enjoyable the art sprites (personal opinion ofc). My prior experience of using inkscape and godot really helped me get a jump boost.

Most of the gameplay had been set in stone by week 1. By week 2, I got the general working of UI and quality of life improvements completed. Adding sound effects was by far the most painful and frustrating part. And the UI is the worst. But I believe I can revisit these in the future.

Whats next?

As mentioned in one of my Instagram stories, I’m going to release a playtester build o June 8th, 2024. The official Telegram will be where I post further details (feel free to join!).

Bugs and glitches are sure to be found. But its what game development is all about!

Help me spread the word about BlastOff! And Thank you for reading <3