What’s the Buzz about Online Privacy? πŸ€”

For me, it is to be free from the control of big tech companies. πŸ•Š

“Why though?” (you might ask), You see, Almost every giant out there is hoarding data about your online interactions πŸ‘€. This data, most of the time, will be used by them to show user-targeted ads and other personalized targeting.

Here is the kicker - data breaches are like uninvited guests crashing the party and governing bodies are like: “Hand over the loot!” πŸš“ . Sadly, this drama is on replay in recent times.

This topic has been covered extensively by TheLinuxExperiment

The Genesis of My Privacy Awakening 🌈

It all began when Microsoft announced their, then, all new Windows version - Windows 11 – a VIP party that my old PC wasn’t invited to! πŸŽ‰ .

So I decided to ditch windows and started looking for an alternative. After a quick online search, I stumbled across Linux and its ecosystem.

I started diving into all kinds of articles about the rebel of operating systems! 🐧

Unlocking the Gates: My Journey to Online Liberation πŸ”’

Let’s be real - Switching things up to be more private wasn’t a walk in the digital park. Every step required research and reassurance, lest I summon the data loss demons. πŸ‘Ύ

I will be covering this exact topic in my new series: The Hidden Bytes πŸ’Ž - A series where I write about all kinds of privacy-respecting services, apps, extensions and even operating systems!

I’ll be including my quirky thoughts (because, duh, it’s my blog). Buckle up, fellow netizens, for a wild ride into the heart of online privacy! 🎒✨